Top 10 Destinations in Latin America

Latin America has something for everyone, whether you want history, culture, nightlife, adventure, nature or everything in between. Here are the top 10 Spanish-speaking destinations in Latin America.

1Buenos Aires

Your every desire can be fulfilled in the capital of Argentina. Whether you want to indulge in street tango, party all night in the clubs, shop all day or stand on the terraces of River Plate or Boca Juniors, this is truly a 24-hour city.

2Angel Falls

For sheer height the Angel Falls in Venezuela’s Canaima National Park are unparalleled. Standing at 907 metres, with an uninterrupted drop of 807 metres, the tallest waterfall in the world dwarfs Niagara Falls by 16 times! There is a multitude of ways of getting to the falls – trekking on foot or in the cuiaras (canoes) – but probably the most spectacular is flying over the falls by plane.

3Galapagos Islands

Follow in the footsteps of Charles Darwin and explore the 22 islands off the coast of Ecuador to marvel at the flora and fauna on view. Some call the islands the largest zoo on earth but remember to look but not touch!

4Patagonia

Whether you prefer relaxing in the surroundings of nature or taking a more active approach, there is plenty on offer here. National parks, fjords, glaciers, mountains and lakes can be seen at your leisure or up close and personal on many adventure activities.

5Machu Picchu

The most spectacular and popular tourist site in Peru boasts stunning vistas of an ancient city built in the sky overlooking the Urubamba River below. Reaching Machu Picchu, at 2,400 metres above sea level, is not for the faint of heart. You will have to acclimatize to the altitude sickness; however, the effort is most definitely worth it.

6Puerto Vallarta

Located on the Pacific coast in Mexico, this small city has a tropical climate, fantastic beaches and plenty of cultural sites of interest. Once dubbed the friendliest city in the world, Puerto Vallarta is a popular destination for tourists from Mexico and the USA.

7Iguazu Falls

Separating Argentina and Brazil is the Iguazu River, which is home to the widest waterfalls in the world. Taller than Niagara Falls, and over twice as wide, the 275 cascades spread out over 2 miles of the river in a horseshoe shape are among the most impressive natural wonders of the world. On the Argentine side of the falls there are tours and boat trips available.

8Lake Titicaca

Revered by the Incans as the cradle of their civilization, this is the largest lake in South America at 196 km long. It is the remnants of an ancient inland sea and has freezing waters due to its high altitude and because of the snow feeding in from the Andes. Discover the myths and legends that surround this holy area and visit the Uros tribe, who pre-date the Incas, on their floating islands made of reed.

9Easter Island

Known as the navel of the world, Easter Island or Rapa Nui is the most isolated, inhabited island on the planet being 3,200 km from Tahiti and Chile. Learn about the moai (statues made of volcanic rock) standing at 5.5 metres tall and tour the ruins to see how the first Europeans viewed this mysterious place.

10Cartagena

Since 1533 this has been an important port in the Caribbean, alive with the sounds, smells and sights of trade. Regular raiding by pirates prompted city walls to be erected in defence which still stand to this day. Visitors today enjoy the colonial history, the modern nightlife and the fantastic weather.

Top 10 Reiseziele in Latein Amerika

Lateinamerika hat für jeden etwas zu bieten, ob Sie Geschichte, Kultur, Nachtleben, Abenteuer, Natur oder alles dazwischen wollen. Hier sind die Top 10 spanisch sprachigen Reiseziele in Lateinamerika.

1Buenos Aires

In der argentinischen Hauptstadt kann jeder Wunsch erfüllt werden. Ob Sie Tango auf der Straße tanzen, die ganze Nacht in den Clubs feiern, den ganzen Tag shoppen oder auf den Terrassen von River Plate oder Boca Juniors stehen möchten, Buenos Aires ist wirklich eine 24-Stunden-Stadt.

2Angel Falls

Nur wegen ihrer Höhe sind die Angel Falls im Canaima National Park in Venezuela schon einmalig. Mit 907 Metern Höhe und einem ununterbrochenen Gefälle von 807 Metern nimmt es der höchste Wasserfall der Welt 16 Mal mit den Niagarafällen auf! Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, um zu den Wasserfällen zu gelangen – Trekking zu Fuß oder in den Cuiaras (Kanus) – aber das wohl spektakulärste ist das Fliegen über die Wasserfälle.

3Galapagos Inseln


Folgen Sie den Spuren von Charles Darwin und erkunden Sie die 22 Galapagos Inseln vor der Küste von Ecuador, um die Flora und Fauna zu bewundern. Manche nennen die Inseln den größten Zoo der Welt, aber denken Sie daran, nur angucken, aber nicht anfassen!

4Patagonien

Ob Sie lieber in der Natur entspannen oder aktiver werden möchten, Patagonien hat viel zu bieten. Die chilenischen Nationalparks, Fjorde, Gletscher, Berge und Seen können Sie in Ihrer Freizeit oder bei vielen Abenteueraktivitäten hautnah erleben.

5Machu Picchu

Der spektakulärste und beliebteste Touristenort in Peru bietet atemberaubende Ausblicke auf die antike Ruinenstadt Inkas, die am Himmel mit Blick auf den Urubamba-Fluss erbaut wurde. Da Machu Picchu 2.400 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel liegt, ist der etwas beschwerliche Weg nichts für schwache Nerven. Sie müssen sich wegen der Höhenkrankheit akklimatisieren. Doch der Aufwand lohnt sich auf jeden Fall.

6Puerto Vallarta

Diese kleine Stadt liegt an der Pazifikküste in Mexiko und hat ein tropisches Klima, fantastische Strände und viele kulturelle Sehenswürdigkeiten. Puerto Vallarta, einst die freundlichste Stadt der Welt, ist ein beliebtes Ziel für Touristen aus Mexiko und den USA.

7Iguazú-Wasserfälle

Argentinien und Brasilien trennt der Fluss Iguazu, in dem die größten Wasserfälle der Welt zu finden sind. Größer als die Niagarafälle und doppelt so breit, gehören die 275 Kaskaden, die sich über 2 Meilen des Flusses in hufeisenförmiger Form ausbreiten, zu den beeindruckendsten Naturwundern der Welt. Auf der argentinischen Seite der Wasserfälle sind Touren und Bootsfahrten möglich.

8Titicacasee

Von den Inkas als Wiege ihrer Zivilisation verehrt, ist der Titicacasee mit 196 km der größte See Südamerikas. Das Gewässer ist das Überbleibsel eines alten Binnenmeeres und hat aufgrund seiner Höhenlage und wegen des Schnees aus den Anden gefrierendes Wasser. Entdecken Sie die Mythen und Legenden, die diese heilige Region umgeben und besuchen Sie die Uros, die vor den Inkas lebten, auf ihren schwimmenden Inseln aus Schilf.

9Oster Inseln

Bekannt als der Nabel der Welt, ist Osterinsel oder Rapa Nui die am meisten isolierte, bewohnte Insel auf dem Planeten, die 3.200 km von Tahiti und Chile entfernt liegt. Erfahren Sie mehr über die Moai (Statuen aus Vulkangestein), die 5,5 Meter hoch sind.Besichtigen Sie die Ruinen, um zu sehen, wie die ersten Europäer diesen geheimnisvollen Ort sahen.

10Cartagena

Die Befestigungsanlagen der alten Stadt in Cartagena de Indias in Kolumbien (Foto: Bigstock)

Seit 1533 war Cartagena ein wichtiger Hafen in der Karibik, lebendig mit den Geräuschen, Gerüchen und Sehenswürdigkeiten des Handels. Regelmäßige Überfälle von Piraten veranlassten die Verteidigung der Stadtmauern, die bis heute stehen. Besucher genießen heute die koloniale Geschichte, das moderne Nachtleben und das fantastische Wetter.